Article Detail

Kolkata Knight Riders have named Phil Salt as a replacement for Jason Roy after the latter pulled out of the upcoming TATA IPL 2024 owing to personal reasons. Having remained unsold in the auction after representing Delhi Capitals last year, this will be Salt's second season in the IPL.

Jason Roy said, “After much consideration, I have made the tough decision to miss this year’s IPL. Having been away since the start of January I need to get back to my family and have a refresh before a very busy year ahead. I will be supporting my friends and teammates at KKR throughout the tournament and wish them the best of luck”

Bought at his reserve price of INR 1.5 crore, the aggressive wicket-keeper batter from England scored two consecutive T20I centuries against the West Indies in December last year. His 48-ball century in the 4th T20I at Trinidad is also the joint-fastest for England.

Squad for IPL 2024: Shreyas Iyer (C), Andre Russell, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Anukul Roy, Chetan Sakariya, Dushmantha Chameera, Harshit Rana, KS Bharat, Manish Pandey, Mitchell Starc, Mujeeb Rahman, Nitish Rana, Phil Salt, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ramandeep Singh, Rinku Singh, Sakib Hussain, Sherfane Rutherford, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer.